Comparison of modular formats

Revision as of 20:58, 26 August 2013 by Rob Kam (talk | contribs)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

A comparison of modular form factors and all known modular synthesizer manufacturers. The form factor is a specification of dimensions, layouts, and other details that helps ensure compatibility between hardware of the same form factor.

Manufacturer Model Patching Height Smallest width Largest depth Power (DC) Power connections Country Website Notes
Abstract Data UK http://www.abstractdata.biz
Analogic-ACS http://www.analogic-acs.com
Analogue Solutions Concussor 3.5mm jack 3U 4HP (20mm) +12,-12,+5 UK http://www.analoguesolutions.com
Analogue Systems RS Integrator 3.5mm jack 3U 6HP (30mm) +12,-12,+5 UK http://www.analoguesystems.co.uk
Aries 300 3.5mm jack 9" 3" +15,-15,+5
ARP 2500 Tini-Jax 8" 3" +15,-15,+12 1970s
Blacet Modular 3.5mm jack 3U 3" +15,-15 http://www.blacet.com
Buchla 100/200 banana & Tini-Jax 4U 4.25" +15,-15,+5, +12,+24
BugBrand banana 3U UK http://www.bugbrand.co.uk
Circuit Abbey UK http://www.circuitabbey.com
Club of the Knobs C900 Series 1/4" Jack 5U 2.125" 3" ±15 14 PIN Edge Connector Portugal http://www.cluboftheknobs.com
CMS Modular 3.5mm jack 10.3" 3" +15,-15
Corsynth 5U Spain http://www.corsynth.com
Curetronic http://www.curetronic.com
Cwejman Sweden http://www.cwejman.net
Cyndustries Cynthia, A Series banana 9" 2.25" +15,-15,+5 http://www.cyndustries.com
Dave Jones Design USA www.jonesvideo.com
Delptronics http://www.delptronics.com
Dewanatron Electronics http://www.dewanatron.com
Digisound 80 3.5mm jack 9" 3" +15,-15,+5 UK http://www.digisound80.co.uk/digisound/index.htm 1980s kit-built
DinSync Sweden http://www.dinsync.info
Doepfer Musikelektronik A-100 3.5mm jack 3U 4HP (20mm) 105mm +12,-12,+5
Elby Panther Series http://www.elby-designs.com
EMU 2000 1/4" jack 6" 3" +15,-15,+5
Encore Modular 1/4" jack 5U 1.75" +15,-15
Endangered Audio USA http://smashingguitarsasheville.com/endangered-audio
Eowave France http://www.eowave.com
Fénix Fénix Netherlands http://www.dutchsynth.nl
FLAME Germany http://flame.fortschritt-musik.de
Future Sound Systems UK http://www.futuresoundsystems.co.uk
Grove Audio 1/4" jack 5U 2.125" +15,-15,+5 USA http://www.groveaudio.com
Hinton Instruments 2000 series bantam/TT Tini-Jax banana 3U 6U 160mm +15,-15 or +12, -12 UK http://www.hinton-instruments.co.uk
KB Elec. Wavemakers 1/4" jack 10" 2" +12,-12
Livewire Frequensteiner 3U 38.1mm (1.50") http://www.livewire-synthesizers.com
Livewire Dual Cyclotron 3U 57.15mm (2.25") http://www.livewire-synthesizers.com
Low-Gain Electronics USA http://www.lowgain-audio.com
LZX Industries USA http://www.lzxindustries.net
Macbeth Studio Systems http://www.macbethstudiosystems.com
Mattson Mini Modular 3.5mm jack 2.45" (5U in kit form) 3.125" +15, -15 or +12, -12 USA http://www.mattsonminimodular.com
Metalbox Frac http://www.metalbox.com
Metasonix All R modules 3U 25.4mm (1") http://www.metasonix.com
Metasonix TM 1/4" jack 5U 4.5" 12VAC http://www.metasonix.com
MFB http://mfberlin.de/Produkte/Module/module.html
Modcan A Series banana 9" 2.25" +15,-15,+5 http://www.modcan.com
Modcan B Series 1/4" jack 5U 1.75" +15,-15,+5 http://www.modcan.com
Moog 900 1/4" jack 5U 2.125" +12,-6
Oakley Sound Systems Oakley Modular System 1/4" jack 5U +15,-15 UK http://www.oakleysound.com/projects.htm
Oakley Sound Systems Compact 3U 3U +15, -15 or +12, -12 UK http://www.oakleysound.com/projects.htm
PAiA 9700 3.5mm jack Frac 1.5" +18,-18 USA http://www.paia.com
Pittsburgh Modular USA http://pittsburghmodular.com
Plan B 28 3U 63.5mm (2.50") http://www.ear-group.net/planb_start.html
Plan B 15 3U 44.45mm (1.75") http://www.ear-group.net/planb_start.html
Plan B 14 3U 95.25mm (3.75") http://www.ear-group.net/planb_start.html
Polyfusion 2000 1/4" jack 4U 3" +15,-15
PPG 300 1/4" jack 5U (220mm) 110mm +12,-12
Roland 700 1/4" jack 11" 2.56" +15,-15,+14.4
Roland 100/100m 3.5mm jack 230mm 104mm +15,-15,+22
Serge Modular banana 4U 17" +12,-12
Signal Arts Canada http://www.signalarts.ca
Somatic Circuits http://somaticcircuits.com
Sound Transform Systems
Synovatron UK synovatron.blogspot.co.uk
Synthesis Technology MOTM 1/4" jack 5U 1.75" +15,-15 USA http://www.synthtech.com
Synthesizers.com Q 1/4" jack 5U 2.125" +15,-15,+5 http://synthesizers.com
Synthetic Music Systems UK http://syntheticmusicsystems.co.uk
Synthetic Sound Labs http://www.steamsynth.com
Synthtech USA http://www.synthtech.com
Synthwerks USA http://www.synthwerks.com
Synton 3000 banana 3U 41mm +15,-15 Netherlands http://www.dutchsynth.nl
Technosaurus Selector 1/4" jack 9U 1.6" +18,-18 Switzerland http://www.technosaurus.ch
The Harvestman Tyme Sefari 3U 50.8mm (2.00") http://www.theharvestman.org
The Harvestman Malgorithm 3U 38.1mm (1.50") http://www.theharvestman.org
The Voice of Saturn http://www.recompas.com
Tiptop Audio http://www.tiptopaudio.com
TouellSkouarn BZH France http://www.touellskouarn.fr
Transform Systems Sound
Trogotronic USA http://trogotronic.com
VBRAZIL Brazil http://www.vbrazil.eng.br
Vermona Germany http://www.vermona.com
Wiard Synthesizer Company 300 Series bantam/TT 3.5mm jack 6U 2.83" +15,-15 http://www.wiard.com
WMD USA http://www.wmdevices.com

Notes

  • 1U is 1.75"
  • 3U and Frac are 5.25" or 133.35mm
  • 4U is 7"
  • 5U is 8.75"
  • 6U is 10.5"
  • 9U is 15.75"

See 19-inch rack for more information about these dimensions."

See also

References

External links